Celebrating 75 years of God's love.

Mt Zion history - our building

A new mission church

April 1946 Mount Zion English Evangelical Lutheran Church was officially organized at Fisher School (then on Hwy 100 and North Avenue where the Radisson Hotel is now located) with 97 charter members.

January 1948 The corner property at 120th and North Avenue was purchased for $3,500

March 1950 Dedication of the first building of Mt. Zion, now known as the Chapel

A growing ministry

1956 Additional property was purchased on 120th Street

September 1957 Groundbreaking for a new sanctuary

December 1958 The first service was held in the new sanctuary

1960 More property was acquired west of the building

May 1966 Groundbreaking for Christian Education addition

November 1967 Dedication of new facilities, including a remodeled sanctuary

1995 More organ pipes installed

1998 New stained glass windows installed at south end (originally there were only 3 windows) Sanctuary recarpeted

Accessibility and building update

September 2004 Ground breaking for remodeling of administration area, new gathering space, nursery, elevator and upper room

September 2005 Dedication of new space

June 2011 Renovation, painting / carpeting / theater installation in Education Wing

September 2012 Wifi system installed

December 2012 New sound system and video in sanctuary, gathering space and nursery

December 2013 New LED sign installed

June 2014 Air conditioning installed in sanctuary

December 2015 After over 20 years of silence, Mt. Zion’s bell tower is restored  

Our Pastors

In December of 1945 Pastor Dwight H. Shelhart, mission developer of the United Lutheran Church in America, called on people in the western area of Wauwatosa.  The congregation first worshipped together on December 30, 1945 in the Fisher School on Highway 100 and North Avenue.

1946-1965 James Bartsch, First Pastor

1964-1967 Duane Swenson, Assistant Pastor

1966-1978 Ingolf B. Kindem, Pastor

1967-1968 John Binder, Intern

1968-1970 Jim Munson, Associate Pastor

1968-1969 Paul Dawson, Intern

1969-1970 Scott Kling, Intern

1971-1975 Steve Samuelson, Assistant Pastor

1976-1979 James Mortenson, Assistant Pastor

1979-1985 Theodore Youngquist, Senior Pastor

1981-1982 William Shepard, Intern

1982 Ted Johannsen, Assistant Pastor

1985 Carl Lund, Associate Pastor

1985-1991 Dale R. Skogman, Senior Pastor

1987-1991 Michael K. Girlinghouse, Assistant Pastor

1991 Kenneth Wheller, Interim Pastor

1992-1993 Dale A. Erickson, Senior Pastor

1994-1995 Mary Rowland, Associate Pastor

1994-1996 Richard Weeden, Associate Pastor

1995 Frank Bauman, Interim Pastor

1995-2009 Gary Johnson, Senior Pastor

1996-1998 Rachel Young-Binter, Assistant Pastor

1998-2002 Amy Reumann, Associate Pastor

2000-2010 Marvin Oechler, Visitation Pastor

2005-2010 Kendra Mohn, Associate Pastor/Interim Senior Pastor (2009-2010)

2009-2010 Jan Veseth, Intern

2009-2011 Mick Roschke, Interim Pastor

2010-2018 Steven & Deborah Ohrtman, Senior Pastors

2018-2019 Joshua A. Graber, Interim Pastor

2020- Tyler D. Rasmussen, Senior Pastor  

Celebrating 75 years of God's love.

Mt Zion History - Our Pastors